"City of Roses" : GERBEROY.
Phone : 33 (0)3 44 82 33 63
Fax : 33 (0)3 44 82 50 90.
Gerberoy is member of the Association " Les Plus Beaux Villages de France"
and is one of the gems of the "Oise", situated in the middle of a triangle
between Beauvais, Rouen and Amiens. Dominating the surrounding countryside at an altitude of 188 meters, the village received a Town Charter, with certain privileges, from King Philippe Auguste in 1202.
It was besieged several times between 1079 and 1437, looted and razed to the ground, but rebuilt in a way that preserved its character. In spring and summer the fronts of the houses along the cobbled streets are covered with climbing roses making Gerberoy a garden in itself. The 17th and 18th century houses, in brick and flint or half timbered, give the town a special quality which is enhanced by its history.
The Collegial Church of Saint Pierre founded in the 11th century was rebuilt in the 15th century following its destruction during the "Hundred years war". The ceiling of the nave is vaulted in timber. The Choir has carved stalls, misericords, and on the walls hang three 17th century Aubusson tapestries. The 18th century brick Town Hall, formerly the Court House and, to day, the museum, is built above an impressive covered market.
You will find in the museum, amongst other things, civic records, local Beauvaisis pottery, prehistoric finds, paintings of various subjects and souvenirs of the post-impressionist painter Henri Le Sidaner (1862-1939).
The Town museum is open daily from 1rst April to 30th September from 2.30 to 6.30 pm.
BY CAR (map)